sg-crest A Singapore Government Agency Website
Official website links end with
Secure websites use HTTPS
Look for a lock () or https:// as an added precaution. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
Note: To search for hearing details for a specific case, visit the hearing list page.

PMO Press Release: Appointment of Mr Vincent Hoong as Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court

The President of the Republic of Singapore, on the advice of the Prime Minister has appointed Mr Hoong Seng Lei Vincent (洪承利) as Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court for a period of one year from 10 April 2019 under Article 95(4)(a) of the Constitution.

2. The swearing-in ceremony will take place on 10 Apr 2019 at the Istana.

3. Mr Hoong, 61, who is currently the Registrar of the Supreme Court is the most senior Legal Service Officer. He joined the Legal Service in 1984 and has more than 34 years of experience in both the judiciary and the legal service.

4. From Apr 1984 to Aug 1997, Mr Hoong held various appointments in the Supreme Court as an assistant registrar and the then Subordinate Courts as a Magistrate and District Judge. He managed the Singapore Land Registry of the Ministry of Law from September 1997 to May 2001 before being seconded to the Singapore Land Authority as Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Legal Officer, and finally as Chief Executive from May 2009 to Mar 2015. Mr Hoong also held concurrent appointments as the Registrar of Titles & Deeds and Controller of Residential Property from May 2000 to 31 Mar 2015 and as the Commissioner of Lands from Aug 2002 to Apr 2009.

5. Mr Hoong currently sits on the Singapore Academy of Law’s LawNet Management Committee and is also a member of the National Heritage Board. He was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2015.

6. Ms Teh Hwee Hwee, who is currently Deputy Registrar of the Supreme Court will succeed Mr Hoong as the Registrar of the Supreme Court.

7. With the appointment of Mr Hoong as Judicial Commissioner, the Supreme Court will have a total of 20 Judges (including four Judges of Appeal and the Chief Justice), seven Judicial Commissioners, four Senior Judges and 16 International Judges.



For media queries, please contact:

Ms Kuan Qian Ying
Assistant Director
Office of Public Affairs
Supreme Court of Singapore
DID: 6332 4582


Share this page: