sg-crest A Singapore Government Agency Website
Official website links end with
Secure websites use HTTPS
Look for a lock () or https:// as an added precaution. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
Note: To search for hearing details for a specific case, visit the hearing list page.

Extension of appointment - High Court Judges

The President of the Republic of Singapore, in accordance with Article 95(2) of the Constitution, has extended the appointment of Justice Tan Siong Thye and Justice Woo Bih Li as High Court Judges for a further two-year term.

2. The effective dates for the extension of appointment are as follows:

Justice Tan Siong Thye (陈祥泰法官) with effect from 22 June 2019
Justice Woo Bih Li (吴必理法官) with effect from 31 December 2019

Justice Tan Siong Thye

Justice Tan Siong Thye

3. Justice Tan was appointed Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court of Singapore on 1 October 2013 and was elevated to a High Court Judge on 1 July 2014. He left in February 2015 to assume the appointment of Deputy Attorney-General before returning to the Bench as a High Court Judge on 1 April 2017. As a Judge, his areas of focus include matters related to building and construction, shipbuilding, company and insolvency, as well as tort claims. Justice Tan was presented the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2003 and the Public Administration Medal (Gold Bar) in 2011. He is currently the Chairman of the Expert Panel of the Pro Bono Centre at the Singapore Management University.

Justice Woo Bih Li

Justice Woo Bih Li

4. Justice Woo was appointed Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court of Singapore on 2 May 2000 and was elevated to a High Court Judge on 2 Jan 2003. His areas of speciality include banking and complex commercial cases as well as tort claims, public law and judicial review matters. Before joining the Supreme Court, Justice Woo was in private practice. He was appointed Senior Counsel in 1997.

5. With the above reappointments, the Supreme Court will have a total of 20 Judges (including Chief Justice and four Judges of Appeal), seven Judicial Commissioners, four Senior Judges and 16 International Judges.


20 JUNE 2019


Share this page: